gift of time

Sharon Lavender in the role of studio assistant.

Normally I spend many hours alone in my studio.  During a deadline I become hermit-like, while my friends, family and my husband tolerate my absence.  I have received help in the past, but there isn’t a lot for someone else to do.  A lot of my work consists of personal drawing technique.  The format of this piece allows for a helper.  Monica donated a day to me and now, my mom Sharon, has been putting in hours.  In fact, she has calculated that it will be 75 hours, done over 11 days.  I am fortunate that she has been able and willing to do this.  And it is such a switch, since studio time is usually time spent away from family rather than time spent with them.  There has been lots of family talk to go with the art making.

 

Mom’s hands while she transfers my lines on to a panel.

 

Preservation Woods photoshop sketch.

Here is the complete image, which will be transferred on to 10 panels for a total size of 80 x 160″.  Thanks Mom!!

 

2 thoughts on “gift of time

Leave a comment